Finding Inspiration

Inspiration comes from anywhere and anything.  Since we are celebrating 10 years in business this month, I have taken the time to reminisce about how Robyn Rhodes Jewelry came to be…  While I had always been crafty, making jewelry since I was at least 12 years old, I knew I was going to be a film maker, that was what I went to college for and spent every free moment working for free on any production that would take me.  When film production came to a screeching halt due to the tragedies of September 11th, I had to figure out what I was going to do with my life.

At the time I was living with my aunt and one day my aunt showed me a necklace that her son purchased for her for her birthday.  Out of nowhere I screamed, “not only can I make that, but I can make it better and for cheaper!” My cousin paid $20 and it was made from wire and colored glass that you can get from the hardware store.  I could not get to that hardware store fast enough.  A fire was ignited like I have never felt.  It is so hard to believe that that $20 piece inspired me to start my own company.  I really feel strongly that there is an artist in everyone… I knew I was one, but never knew my medium, I thought it was film, but then I picked up tools and wire– once I had those in my hands, there was no stopping me.

It is okay for your path to change at any given time– it may just be the best chance you ever take!  I pose a question…. If you could try anything for a day, be anything for a day, what would you be or do?

Leave a Reply

